Micah Roberts wins BrookWright Composition Competition

The results of the 2023 BrookWright International Brass Ensemble Composer Competition (IBECC) have been announced. For the first time since the competition began in 2020, the Overall Winner has also won the Public Commendation Prize, which was voted for by viewers. The winner of both prizes is American composer Micah Roberts with his piece for trombone choir entitled ‘Mount Auburn’. The work is a musical depiction of the bustling section of Cincinnati of the same name.

Micah wins a total of {{template}},000 US cash, a license to the programme NotePerformer 4 and publication of his work through BrookWright Music. The competition received some 46 entries from composers in 16 different countries. Rolling score videos for each of the five finalists can be viewed at:

·         Piece A: Florence Anne Maunders - Transmission 

·         Piece B: Harold Burgmayer - Sola Fide 

·         Piece C: Joseph Ricard - Chesapeake Crab Soup 

·         Piece D: Micah Roberts - Mount Auburn 

·         Piece E: Nelson Jesus - Two Fast Pieces  

Speaking about the contest, Dr. Liz Lane commente,: “It was a real pleasure to be involved with the Brookwright Composition Competition again this year, this time working alongside my esteemed colleague Kevin Norbury. It was a privilege to listen and read through many great new pieces for brass ensemble and the selection of the finalists and our winner was a unanimous decision. Congratulations to all the finalists from around the globe. For me, the winning piece stood out for its character and innovation, with great writing for collective trombones, and a striking soundscape - so a special congratulations to Micah Roberts for his ‘Mount Auburn’.”

Meanwhile Kevin Norbury said, “It was a special privilege for me to be working alongside the esteemed Dr. Liz Lane and the enterprising and talented Andrew Wainwright in the assessment and judging of the entries in this year's competition. The standard was very high and I congratulate everyone for their submissions. Our choices on the 'standouts' and eventual winner were virtually unanimous. It was good to see more entries from female composers this year - keep them coming girls! I congratulate the winner and Andrew, for initiating this competition - it is rapidly establishing itself on composers' horizons. I look forward to seeing the published version of the winning composition."

BrookWright’s owner Andrew Wainwright concluded by saying, “I would like to offer my congratulations to our competition winner Micah Roberts, and also our other finalists, Florence Anne Maunders, Harold Burgmayer, Joseph Ricard and Nelson Jesus. In addition, well done to all the composers and arrangers who submitted such a wide range of excellent entries! I would like to sincerely thank our judges, Dr Liz Lane and Kevin Norbury for all their work in adjudicating the competition. Last but not least, I would like to thank our sponsors for the competition – Besson, Blackwood Music, Christopher Bond Music, Data Paradigm, John Lawes, NotePerformer, and World of Brass and WobPlay.”


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!


Displaying 1–1 of 1 1