Groningen wins 2022 Dutch Open


Congratulations to Provinciale Brassband Groningen on winning the recent Dutch Open title, which took place on the band’s home turf.  after a keenly fought Low-Countries battle in the heart of their home city. 

Groningen, under MD Richard Visser, impressed the audience and adjudicators alike with its impressive 30 minute programme. The set began with 'Into the Light' by Philip Wilby, before principal cornet Robert Ernest provided an outstanding performance of Johan Dokter's evocative 'Awake Thou That Sleepest' earning him the 'Best Soloist' award. The programme concluded with a superb performance of Oliver Waespi's 'Other Lives'.

The event formed part of a successful Groningen Brass Experience Festival and was broadcast live through the platform and reported on by CU Brass on the day. It also featured a pre-event Gala Concert by London Brass.

Congratulations are also deserved by Belgian competitors Mercator Brass Band led by Tim de Masseneer and Martini Brassband from Groningen led by Rieks van der Velde on winning their respective section contests. Full results are below: 

Championship Section:
Adjudicators: Jan de Haan; Angela Whelan; Eirik Gjerdevik

1. Provinciale Brassband Groningen (Richard Visser): 96
2. De Bazuin Oenkerk (Jaap Musschenga): 95
3. Soli Brass Leeuwarden (Anne van der Berg): 94
4. De Wâldsang Buitenpost (Rieks van der Velde): 92
5. Festival Brass Band Itegem (Steven Verhaert): 91
6. Brassband Buizingen (Michel Leveugle): 90
7. Amsterdam Brass (Paul van Gils): 89
8. Brassband Rijnmond (Chris Derikx): 88

Best Soloist: Robert Ernest (cornet) — Provinciale Brassband Groningen

First Section:
Adjudicators: Tijmen Botma; Matt Lewis; Oren Marshall

1. Mercator Brass Band (Tim de Masseneer): 92
2. Brassband Amersfoort (Vincent Verhage): 90
3. Oefening en Uitspanning (Anno Appelo): 88
4. Brassband Breukelen (Erik Kluin): 85

Best Soloist: Tom de Laet (euphonium) — Mercator Brass Band

Second Section:
Adjudicators: Tijmen Botma; Matt Lewis; Oren Marshall

1. Martini Brassband (Rieks van der Velde): 95
2. Brassband Düren (Martin Schadlich): 89
3. De Bazuin Oenkerk B (Jan-Art Ponstein): 88
4. Brassband Heman (Geert Jan Kroon): 87

Best Soloist: Marianne Groothof (flugel) — Martini Brassband

Most innovative programme: Mercator Brass Band


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!



Displaying 1–1 of 1 1