2021 Whitburn Band Virtual Festival


The recent Whitburn Band Virtual Festival was a huge success, with 37 Scottish bands and ensembles performing to a worldwide audience. The contest was presented by the band's professional conductor Professor Nicholas Childs and produced by the band's multi-media wizard, Ryan Bradley. Congratulations are due to Unison Kinneil, Kingdom Brass, Lochgelly, Whitburn Heartlands, Kilmarnock Concert Brass and Riverside Youth Bands, who were declared the winners of their respective sections. 

Commenting on the weekend, Whitburn Band Chairman Charlie Farren stated, "We would like to thank all the bands, the sponsors and supporters, Professor Childs and the judges, our production team, and everyone who made the Virtual Festival a success. Bands and percussion ensembles from across Scotland showed great innovation with their programmes and entertained us all. With bands slowly going back to playing together at rehearsals, we look forward to performing in-person again very soon."

Full results are below and all the performances can be enjoyed on Whitburn's Facebook page.

Championship Section:
Adjudicators: Bryan Allen, Chris Bradley, Alison Hall

1. Unison Kinneil
2. Kirkintilloch
3. Bo'ness & Carriden
4. Dunaskin Doon
Best Instrumentalist: Caroline Tennant (flugel) — Unison Kinneil

First Section:
Adjudicators: Scott Kerr, Chris Bradley, Evelyn Bradley

1. Kingdom Brass
2. Johnstone Band
3. Coalburn Silver
4. Newmilns & Galston
5. Campbeltown Brass
Best Instrumentalist: Alex Philip (trombone) — Kingdom Brass

Second Section:
Adjudicators: Bryan Allen, Heather McMillan, Chris Shanks

1. Lochgelly
2. Annan Town
3. St David's Brass
4. Broxburn & Livingston
5. Irvine & Dreghorn Brass
6. Selkirk Silver                                                                                                                                                Best Instrumentalist: Sylvia Campbell (horn) — Annan Town

Third Section:
Adjudicators: Scott Kerr, Caroline Farren, Holly Bennett

1. Whitburn Heartlands
2. Langholm Town
3. Dysart Colliery Silver                                                                                                                                      Best Instrumentalist: Christine Calver (flugel) — Langholm Town

Fourth Section:
Adjudicators: Alison Hall, Chris Shanks, Caroline Farren

1. Kilmarnock Concert Brass
2. Coalburn Intermediate
3. Newland Concert Brass
4. Galashiels Town
5. MacTaggart Scott Loanhead
6. Dunfermline Town
Best Instrumentalist: Nigel Martin (flugel) — Kilmarnock Concert Brass

Youth Section/Percussion Ensembles:
Adjudicators: Evelyn Bradley, Heather McMillan, Holly Bennett

1. Riverside Youth Band                                                                                                                                      2. Perth & Kinross Schools' Percussion Ensemble                                                                                                    3. Brass Sounds Inverclyde Youth Ensemble                                                                                                        Best Instrumentalist: Isaac Parkhill (euphonium) — Brass Sounds Inverclyde Youth Ensemble

Gold Award:
Kirkintilloch Youth
Scottish Borders Youth Band
Whitburn Youth

Silver Award:
Coalburn Bronze
Coalburn Percussion Academy
Irvine & Dreghorn Youth
Loanhead Brass Roots
Stranraer Brass Junior

Bronze Award:
Abbey Brass (Jedforest)
St David's Youth


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!



Displaying 1–1 of 1 1