Vulcan Brass win PJBE Prize

Congratulations to Ffion Morris, Chloe Eagleson, Jack Lythaby and Josh Dickens of Vulcan Brass for winning the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble Prize held recently at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. The esteemed adjudicators were the well respected trombonist Christopher Mowat and Ursula Jones who also generously sponsors the competition in her late husband’s name. 

The Philip Jones Brass Ensemble Prize commemorates the pioneering work of Philip Jones and aims to perpetuate the traditions of brass chamber music that his internationally acclaimed ensemble established. 2021 would have been Philip Jones’ 93rd year. It will be 70 years since Philip started a brass ensemble and 35 year since the PJBE gave its last public performance at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London on 8th June 1986.


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!


Displaying 1–1 of 1 1