UniBrass 2020 Results

Salford and Sheffied took the spoils today at the UniBrass 2020 Competition held in the Bryn Terfel Theatre in Bangor. Adjudicators Dr Robert Childs and David Hirst had an enjoyable day listening to the fine young talent on display in the UniBrass Trophy contest, whilst Christopher Bond and Sarah Groarke-Booth made the all-important decisions in the Shield competition.
Salford were victorious, winning the UniBrass Trophy under the direction of Richard Harvey, although the RNCM and Chris Binns ran them very close, with the adjudicators placing them some dostance ahead of the third placed Huddersfield. It was not quite such a difficukt decision for the judges of the UniBrass Shield with Sheffiend winning by a margin of 4 points over Bristol, with Southampton making up the final podium position.
As always this was a thoroughly entertaining day, with a great deal of talent on display and run like clock work by the contest organisers. A full review of the event will appear in the next issue of BBW.
UniBrass Trophy
1. Salford (Richard Harvey) — 141
2. RNCM (Chris Binns) — 140
3. Huddersfield (Jonathan Beatty) — 136
4. Royal Birmingham Conservatoire (Ian Porthouse) — 132*
5. Nottingham (Eli Haines*, John Grealey) — 132
6. University of Birmingham (Stuartie Birnie) — 129
7. Manchester (Dexter Drown) — 125
8. Chichester (Emma Button) — 123
9. Warwick (Simon Hogg) — 121
10. Leeds (Ethan Skirving) — 119
*denotes time penalty 
Best Soloist: Siobhan Bates (tenor horn) Huddersfield
Most Entertaining Band: RNCM
Best March: Huddersfield (Liberty Bell)
Best Percussion Section: Birmingham (Xylophone Duet)
Best Student Conductor: Eli Haines (Nottingham)
UniBrass Shield:
1. Sheffield (Jack Aitken) — 139
2. Bristol (Matt Roche) — 135
3. Southampton (Peter Hammond) — 133
4. Durham (Isaac Conroy) — 132
5. Lancaster (Henry Lay, Alex Hardgrave) — 125
6. Bangor (Tilly Scott) — 123
7. Cambridge (Daniel Phillips) — 122*
8. Keele (Katharine Slater) — 122
9. Oxford (Danny Riley) — 121*
10. York (Brandon Fletcher)- 121
11. Royal Holloway (John Campbell) — 120
*denotes time penalty
Best Soloist: Dominic Gardner (Trombone) 
Most Entertaining Band: Sheffield
Best March: Sheffield 
Best Percussion Section: Bangor
Best Student Conductor: Jack Aitken (Sheffield)
Best Student Composition: Thomas Whitcombe


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1