Llwydcoed is over the moon with SEWBBA win

South East Wales Brass Band Association's Autumn Festival Contest was held yesterday (Saturday 24th November) at Willows High School Cardiff. Congratulations to Llwydcoed, who were victorious in the Championship section, under the skilful direction of Christopher Turner, with a superb performance of ‘Between the Moon and Mexico’. As well as scooping up prizes for the best bass section and best trombone, it was a special day for the band as it was the first time for Richard Davies to lead the band on the end chair, after being persuaded to return and ‘help out’ nearly two years ago, having started his playing career at Llwydcoed 40 years earlier. The win also brought back fond memories for the MD too, who was part of the Brighouse and Rastrick Band’s National victory on the same test piece in 1998.
The event was also the final contest of the Welsh League system, which determines the champion band in each section as well as league promotion and relegation ready for next year’s series of contests. Congratulations to the winners of all sections. Full results of the contest and league can be found below.
Autumn Festival Results:
Championship Section
Between the Moon and Mexico – Philip Sparke
Adjudicator – Stan Lippeatt
1st  Llwydcoed Christopher Turner winning the Dewar Challenge Trophy
2ndPontardulais Paul Jenkins
3rdTylorstown Gary Davies
4th Ebbw Valley Gareth Ritter
5th Markham Matt Rowe
Best Instrumentalist Chris Jenkins Solo Cornet Pontardulais winning the Rhymney Brewers Trophy
Best Bass Section Llwydcoed winning the Gerald Coleman Memorial Trophy
Best Trombone Gareth Robinson Llwydcoed winning the Selwyn James Trophy
1st Section
Trittico – James Curnow
1st  A W Parker Drybrook, Joshua Ruck winning the South Wales Miners Gala Trophy.
2nd  Abergavenny Borough Sean O’Neil
3rd  Briton Ferry Jeff Pearce
Best Instrumentalist, Andrew Jones, Solo Horn, A W Parker Drybrook, winning the SEWBBA Trophy.
2nd Section
Oceans – Goff Richards
Adjudicator – Stan Lippeatt
1st RAF St Athan Voluntary Alan Bourne winning the Western Mail Trophy.
2nd Seindorf Arian Crwbin Craig Roberts
3rd Abertillery Town Joshua Ruck
4th Newport Borough Robin Hackett
5th Penclawdd Brass Tony Small
Best Instrumentalist, Andy Watkins Soprano Cornet, Abertillery Town, winning the Fred Western Memorial Trophy.
Best Trombone Section Crwbin, winning the Mike Tilley Memorial Cup.
3rd Section
Own Choice Test Piece
Adjudicator - John Maines
1st Taff Vale Brass Gareth Ritter winning the Mel Huntley Memorial Trophy.
2nd Cwmtawe Youth Wayne Pedrick
3rd Usk James Jones
4th Severn Tunnel Daniel Hall
5th Ynyshir Gary Davies
6th Crosskeys Silver Sion Rhys Jones
7th Oakdale Kerry Bowden
Best Instrumentalist, Duncan Broadley, Solo Cornet, Taff Vale Brass winning the Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC Trophy.
Best Horn Section, Taff Vale Brass winning the Mavis Thomas Memorial Cup.
Youngest Player in the 3rd& 4thSections Noah Davies aged 8 Ynyshir Band, winning the Fred Tape Shield.
4th Section 
Own Choice Test Piece
Adjudicator - John Maines
1st  Gwaun Cae Gurwen Robert Burnett winning the Hawkes Challenge Shield.
Best Instrumentalist, Dafydd Lewis,Euphonium, Gwaun Cae Gurwen winning the Evan Evans Bevan Trophy.
Youth Section
15 minute Entertainment Programme
Adjudicator – John Maines
Gold Award, City of Cardiff Youth (M3) Carol Flannery Davies
Gold Award, Ebbw Valley Academy Bethan Cooke
Silver Award, Llwydcoed Juniors Richard Davies
Silver Award, Rhondda Fach Youth Angela Westacott
Bronze Award, City of Cardiff Beginners (M4) Rebecca Cale
Bronze Award, Vale of Glamorgan Training Band Ron Westacott
Bronze Award, Newport Borough Training Band Hayley Giles
Best Instrumentalist, Scarlett Norman, Solo Horn Ebbw Valley Academy winning the 4BarsRest Trophy.
Best Cornet, Graham Middleton, Newport Borough Training Band, winning the Arthur Batten Memorial Award.
Best Percussion, City Of Cardiff Youth (M3) winning the Ev-Entz Shield.
Youngest Tuba Player, Annie Duque aged 11, Newport Borough Training Band, winning the Gwyn Press Memorial Trophy.
Youngest Player, Sebastian Nader-Humphries aged 7, Newport Borough Training Band.
Welsh League Champions 2018
Conductor of the Year, Gareth Ritter, winning the Eric James Memorial Trophy.
Section 4
Joint Champion Band, Ogmore & Gwaun Cae Gurwen, winning the T J Powell Trophy
Section 3
Champion Band, Taff Vale Brass, winning the T J Powell Trophy.
Runner Up, Crosskeys, winning the Mal Griffiths Memorial Trophy.
Champion Band, Newport Borough, winning the T J Powell Trophy.
Runner Up, Seindorf Arian Crwbin, winning the Steve & Jeff Trotman Memorial Trophy.
Section 1
Champion Band, Burry Port winning the Ruby Protheroe Memorial Trophy.
Runner Up, Abergavenny Borough, winning the South Wales Miners Gala Trophy.
Championship Section
Champion Band, Ebbw Valley winning the Miners Gala Trophy.
Runner Up, Pontardulais winning the Tom Trotman Memorial Trophy.

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1