Victorious Virtuoso GUS in the Midlands 

Congratulations to Virtuoso GUS and M.D. Adam Cooke, the victors at Bedworth on Kevin Norbury's Odyssey. The band claimed their fifth Championship title in as many years but were run close by second placed Desford Colliery under Michael Fowles. Both will now take their places at the Royal Albert Hall in October for the National Finals. 
Congratulations also go to the winners and qualifiers from the other sections who will represent their region in Cheltenham in September. 
Championship Section: 
1 Virtuosi GUS (Adam Cooke)* 
2. Desford Colliey (Michael Fowles) * 
3. Thoresby Colliery (Ian McElligott) 
4. Ratby Co-operative (Mareika Gray) 
5. Blidworth Welfare (Simon Oates) 
6. Spal Sovereign Brass (Trevor Jones) 
7. Derwent Brass (Keith Leonard) 
8. Jaguar Land Rover (Dave Lea) 
9. Langley (Cliff Parker) 
10. Newstead Brass (Jim Davies) 
11. Jackfield (Simon Platford) 
12. Hathern (David Newman) 
First Section: 
1. Staffordshire (Leigh Baker)* 
2. Foresters Brass (John Davis)* 
3. Enderby (Simon Gresswell)* 
4. Rushden Town (Adele Hudson) 
5. Oddfellows Brass (Rob Boulter) 
6. Bedworth Brass (David Maplestone) 
7. Burbage Buxton (Steve Critchlow) 
8. Kibworth (John Hudson) 
9. Bilton Silver (Rugby) (David Stowell) 
10. Carlton Brass (Gary Wyatt) 
11. Shirebrook MW Unison (Colum O'Shea) 
12. Ibstock Brick Brass (Simon Willis) 
13. Leicestershire Co-op (Graham Jacklin) 
14. Gresley Colliery (David Purkiss) 
15. Glossop Old (Duncan Beckley) 
16. Harborough (Brad Turnbull) 
17. Wigston (Chris Small) 
18. Shirley (David Hirst) 
Second Section: 
1. Hucknall & Linby MC (Paul Whyley)* 
2. Rolls Royce (Derby) (Graham Cardwell)* 
3. Tintwistle (Sarah Groarke-Booth) 
4. Foss Dyke (Michael Howley) 
5. Bakewell Silver (Jim Henson) 
6. Stourport-on-Severn (Oliver Wilson) 
7. City of Coventry (Stephen Cooper) 
8. Avonbank (Evesham) (Colin Hogg) 
9. Ireland Colliery Chesterfield (Lindon Bolt) 
10. Daventry Brass (Ken Ewer) 
Third Section: 
1. Market Rasen (David Dernley)* 
2. Audley Brass (Tom Hancock)* 
3. Cleobury Mortimer Concert Brass (David Maplestone)* 
4. Newhall (Kevin Holdgate) 
5. Long Eaton Silver Prize (Sharon Stansfield) 
6. Shirland Welfare (Lynden Cooper) 
7. Amington (Alan Gifford) 
8. Pleasley Colliery Welfare (Geof Benson) 
9. Cubbington Silver (Mark Phillips) 
10. Wellington (Telford) (Mark Parry) 
11. Towcester Studio (Paul Fensom) 
12. Trentham Brass (Mike Cavaney) 
13. Arrow Valley Brass (Andy Culshaw) 
14. Raunds Temperance (Jayne Murrill) 
15. Corby Silver (Catherine Fountain) 
16. Matlock (Geoff Hawley) 
17. Brackley & District (Micah Parsons) 
Fourth Section: 
Stamford Brass (Julian Bright)* 
City of Birmingham (Ben Hewlett-Davies)* 
Croft Silver (Ian Needham) 
Syston (Gary Smallwood) 
Melton (Graham Sutton) 
Moulton 77 (Colin Jones) 
Shipston Town (Howard Gibbs) 
Kirkby Colliery (Neville Buxton) 
Porthywaen Silver (Dougie Graham) 
Ratby Co-op Mid (David Purkiss) 
University of Warwick (Simon Hogg) 
Fairfield Buxton (Charles Kitchen) 
Skegness (Steve Walker) 
Malvern Hills District (Chris License) 
Wem Jubilee 
Whitwell Brass (Ryan Stacey) 
Dunchurch (Paul Whitmore) 
18. Sherwood Forest Brass (Christine Lippeatt) 
Bilton Silver (Evolution) (Jack Fisher) 
Coventry Festival (Allan Wheelhouse) 
Ilkeston Brass (Geoff Hawley) 
Newark Town (Rupert Trippett) 
*Qualify for National Final 

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital. Alternatively, subscribe to the printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World) 

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1