2018 BBC Radio 2 Brass Award Finalists  

BBC Radio 2 Young Brass Award has announced the names of this year's four finalists. They are Cameron Scott (euphonium - 16), Sam Dye (trombone - 18), Thomas Nielsen (cornet - 16) and Ross Dunne (tenor horn - 19) will compete at 8pm on Friday 20th April at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester. As with previous competitions, the event will be presented live on BBC Radio 2 by Ken Bruce and Frank Renton.  

Isobel Daws, last year's winner will begin the evening with a performance of Philip Sparke's 'Capriccio for Trombone and Band' before each finalist takes to the stage for their own choice 10-minute programme. The accompaniment will be provided by the North West of England Champions, Foden's Band with conductor Michael Fowles. 

Foden's will also provide entertainment while the adjudicators, Professor Nicholas Childs, Helen Vollam, and Andrew Crowley decide the 2018 winner.  

Tickets for the final are available either direct from the RNCM box office or via:  

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital. Alternatively, subscribe to the printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World) 

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1