2021 Bolsover Festival of Brass

Congratulations to Easington Colliery, Milton Keynes, Shirland Welfare, Whitworth Vale & Healey and Matlock on winning their respective section contests of the recent 2021 Bolsover Festival of Brass. Easington Colliery won Championship Section top prize with a programme based on a heroic theme. MD Danny Brooks, took the Major Peter Parkes Memorial Trophy as the winning conductor, with the band also picking up the Bowden Developments Trophy and the Warwick Music Group Viewers Award in addition to a cheque for £700. The band’s euphonium player James McLeod also won the Best Soloist Award for his stunning performance of 'Metropolis', written for him by composer Andrew Stevenson. 

Although the festival suffered with a number of withdrawals, the competitive standard in each section was encouragingly high thanks to the relaxed registration rules and the approach by MDs who opted for programmes with musical variety and inventiveness. The event continued to showcase its competitors to the widest possible audience thanks to the livestream broadcast sponsored by Warwick Music Group. Full results can be viewed below:


Championship Section:
Adjudicator: John Doyle

1. Easington Colliery (Daniel Brooks) — 97
2. Derwent Brass (Jack Capstaff) — 96
3. Skelmanthorpe Band (Martin Heartfield) — 94
4. Roberts Bakery (Paul Lovatt-Cooper) — 93
5. Staffordshire Band (Craig Williams) — 92
6. Unite the Union (Jon Davis) — 91
7. Milton Keynes Brass (Jonathan Mott) — 89
8. Newstead Band (Jim Davies) — 88
9. Harrogate (Andrew Baker) — 87

Best Instrumentalist: James McLeod (euphonium) — Easington Colliery

Most Entertaining Band: Derwent Brass
Warwick Music Viewers Vote Award: Easington Colliery

First Section:
Adjudicator: Ian Brownbill

1. Milton Keynes Brass (Jonathan Mott) — 93
2. Langley Band (Cliff Parker) — 90
3. Staffordshire Band (Craig Williams) — 89
4. Strata Brass (Alex Webb) — 88
5. Rolls Royce Derby (Graham Cardwell) — 86

Best Instrumentalist: flugel horn — (Milton Keynes)

Second Section:
Adjudicator: Andrea Price

1. Shirland Welfare Band (Lynden Cooper) — 87
2. Audley Brass (Tom Hancock) — 86
3. Rockingham (Adam Whittle) — 85

Best Instrumentalist: Daniel Garland (trombone) — Rockingham

Third Section:
Adjudicator: Andrea Price

1. Whitworth Vale & Healey (Richard Milton) — 87
2. Littleport Brass (Ian Knapton) — 86
3. Ratby Mid Band (Garry Perrin) — 80
4. Golborne Brass (Joshua Hughes) — 78
5. Ireland Colliery (Richard Windle) — 75
6. Cubbington Brass (Kieron Howe) — 70

Best Instrumentalist: David Tattersall (cornet) — Whitworth Vale & Healey

Fourth Section:
Adjudicator: Andrea Price

1. Matlock Band (Chris Banks) — 74
2. Golborne Brass (Joshua Hughes) — 73
3. Ilkeston Brass (Geoff Hawley) — 69
4. Loxley Silver (Thomas Mercer) — 60

Best Soloist: Gareth Jones & Mark Blakeson (Golborne Band)


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!



Displaying 1–1 of 1 1