Flowers victorious at Butlins

Congratulations to Flowers, who made it an eighth impressive win in Skegness last weekend, under the direction of MD Paul Holland. The band’s victory was comprehensive following an outstanding performance of Jonathan Bates’ 'Songs of Ascent' in Saturday’s set work contest. Sunday was of a similarly top-class standard as the band reprised its 2019 Brass in Concert programme 'Captain Nemo's Forgotten Journal'. The weekend culminated in Flowers winning all three elements of the adjudication process and Emily Evans was rewarded for her tenor horn playing in the test piece with the 'Best Soloist' prize. Desford and Redbridge made up the other podium places following their own very fine performances, but Flowers proved to be too much of a force to be reckoned with.
Congratulations are also owed to Eccles Borough, City of Coventry Brass, Tewit Silver, Dodworth Colliery MW, Youth Brass 2000 and Shirland Welfare Training on winning their respective sections.
Full Results:
Championship Section:
Set-Work/Music (entertainment)/Entertainment = Place 
1. Flowers (Paul Holland): 1/1/1 = 3 
2. Desford Colliery (LCITWF) (Michael Fowles): 5/2/2 = 9
3. Redbridge Brass (Chris Bearman): 3/3/4 = 10
4. GUS Band (Chris Jeans): 4/5/3 = 12*
5. Woodfalls (Dr Robert Childs): 2/4/6 = 12
6. Wantage Silver (Jonathan Bates): 6/6/5 = 17
Best Soloist (set-work): Emily Evans (horn) — Flowers
Best Soloist (entertainment): Kevin Crockford (soprano) — Desford Colliery (LCITWF)
Winners set-work: Flowers 
Most Entertaining Band: Flowers 
Highest Placed Mining Band: Desford Colliery (LCITWF)
*Placing on entertainment takes precedence
First Section
Test Pieces: Symphonic Episodes for Brass Band (Brian Balmages arr. Mike Kilmartin)
Adjudicators: Leigh Baker & Gary Davies
1. Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray)
2. Stannington (Derek Renshaw)
3. Staffordshire (Craig Williams)
4. Dublin Silver (Tim Jameson)
5. Sandhurst Silver (David Johnson)
6. Soham Comrades (Mark Ager)
7. Marsden Silver (Andrew Lofthouse)
8. Middleton (Kevin Gibbs)
9. Haydock Band (Mark Quinn)
10. Unite the Union (John Davis)
11. Harborough (Brad Turnbull)
12. Milton Keynes Brass (Jonathan Mott)
Highest Placed Mining Band: Haydock Band
Second Section:
Test Pieces: Galdhoppigen (Simon Kerwin)
Adjudicators: Anne Crookston & Sheona White
1. City of Coventry Brass (Jonathan Fearn)
2. Hade Edge (Jamie Smith)
3. Gresley Colliery (Craig Stevens)
4. Besses Boys (James Holt)
5. Eagley (Chris Wormald)
6. Hebden Bridge (David Hamilton)
7. Ibstock Brick Brass (Stephen Cooper)
8. Greenfield (Phil Goodwin)
9. Meltham & Meltham Mills (Tom Haslam)
10. Ifton Colliery (Scott Lloyd)
11. Leicestershire Coop SMW (Luke Pallister)
12. Bedford Town (Martin Hurrell)
13. Epping Forest (Keith Schroeter)
14. Shirland Welfare (Lynden Cooper)
15. Chinnor Silver (David Pegram)
16. CWA Brass (Paul Hamilton)
17. BAE Systems (David Chapman)
Highest Placed Mining Band: Gresley Colliery 
Withdrawn: Waterbeach Brass
Third Section
Test Pieces: Gothic Dances (Alan Fernie)
Adjudicators: Dave Lea & Sam Fisher
1. Tewit Silver (Martin Hall)
2. Emley Brass (Gary Hallas)
3. Whitworth Vale & Healey (Christopher Binns)  
4. Towcester Studio (Peter Wain)
5. Raunds Temperance (Jonathan Pippen)
6. Hoover (Bolton) (Craig Mann)
7. Stamford Brass (Julian Bright)
8. Tadley Concert Band (Paul Chapman)
9. Pleasley Colliery Welfare (Geof Benson)
10. Sale Brass (Matthew Hindle)
11. Great Yarmouth Brass (Colin Swaep)
12. Crystal Palace (Michael Gray)
13. Syston (Colin Jones)
Highest Placed Mining Band: Emley Brass
Withdrawn: Cubbington Silver
Fourth Section:
Test Piece: A Bournemouth Suite (Benjamin Tubb)
Adjudicators: David Roberts & Alan Widdop
1. Dodworth Colliery MW (Eliot Darwin)
2. Spennymoor Town (Fiona Casewell)
3. Amington (Alan Gifford)
4. Sherwood Forest Brass (Christine Lippeatt)
5. Woodbridge Excelsior (Chris Lewis-Garnham)
6. Whitwell Brass (Adrian Wood)
Highest Placed Mining Band: Dodworth Colliery MW
Youth Section:
Adjudicator: Mareika Gray
1. Youth Brass 2000 (Cathy Fountain)
2. 3BA Academy Brass (Birgit Trinkl)
3. Shirland Welfare Youth (Dave Hill)
4. Enderby Youth (Trevor Hounsome)
Soloist: Ed Culpin (baritone) Youth Brass 2000
Unregistered Section:
Adjudicator: Mareika Gray
1. Shirland Welfare Training (Dave Hill)
2. Gresley Colliery Youth (Duncan Jackson)
3. Wigston Enterprise (Matthew Davis)
Soloist: Izzy Owen, Shirland
Youngest Player: Benjamin Pope (5) Gresley


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1