Shirebrook Entertainment Contest

Congratulations to the Enderby Band, winners of the popular Shirebrook Entertainment Contest last weekend. The band was on super form and certainly impressed adjudicator Steven Mead with their entertaining programme.
M.D. Ryan Richards led the band skillfully through their set which included 'Valero', 'Water of Tyne', soprano solo, 'Live and Let Die'Gareth Wood's 'Men of Harlech'and 'Glorifico Aeternum'. Commenting on the win Ryan stated: "My thanks got to the players who put in the hard work for this victory. I'm really pleased as it builds on the success at the Areas and shows that we are hungry for more. It's such an exciting and musically rewarding time for me working with a great bunch of people."
Section A:
1. Enderby (Ryan Richards)
2. Blidworth Welfare Band (Simon Oates)
3. Foresters Brass (John Davis)
4. Strata Brass (Jonathan Bates)
5. Hucknall & Linby Mining Community Band (Paul Whyley)
6. Shirebrook Welfare Band (Jim Henson)
Best Soloist: Matt Sharpe (flugel) — Hucknall & Linby MC Band
Best Euphonium: Andy Mayell (Enderby Band)

Section B:
1. Amington Band (Alan Gifford)
2. Matlock (Chris Banks)
3. Oughtibridge (Gavin Somerset)

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1