London and Southern Counties Regional Results

The last qualifying spaces for the Royal Albert Hall were decided in Stevenage by adjudicators Dr. Robert Childs and Michael Fowles. Congratulations to Friary
who not only took the title with a great performance of Ray Steadman-Allen’s ‘Seascapes’, but also scooped up every other available solo and section prize. Joining Friary in London this October are runners-up Zone One Brass
Victories in the lower sections were awarded to Amersham, Epsom & Ewell Silver, Chichester City andSimon Langton Brassin the First to Fourth Sections respectively. A list of the full results can be viewed below with further details to follow in the next issue of BBW.
Championship Section:
Test Piece: Seascapes (Ray Steadman-Allen)
Adjudicators: Dr Robert Childs & Michael Fowles
1. Friary Brass Band (Chris King)*
2. Zone One Brass (Richard Ward)*
3. Redbridge (Dr David Thornton)
4. Haverhill Silver (Paul Filby)
5. Wantage (Paul Holland)
6. Aveley & Newham (Alan Duguid)
7. Kidlington Concert Brass (Duncan Wilson)
8. East London Brass (Jayne Murrill)
9. Thundersley (Melvin White)
10. Jersey Premier Brass (Simon Jones)
11. Hitchin (Martin Heartfield)
12. Regent Brass (Paul Archibald)
*Top two bands qualify for National Final
Cornet: Richard Straker, Friary
Euphonium: Chris Straker, Friary
Tenor Horn: Chris Pannell, Friary
Trombone Section: Friary - Chris Brewster, Ian Stewart & Adam Gregory

First Section:
Test Piece: 'Symphony of Marches' — Gilbert Vinter
Adjudicators: Mark Wilkinson and Paul Norley
1. Amersham (Paul Fisher)*
2. Fulham (John Ward)*
3. Medway (Nigel Taken)
4. Egham (Gareth Green)
5. Milton Keynes Brass (Jonathan Mott)
6. Grimesdyke Brass (Sharon Broughall)
7. Sandhurst Silver (David Johnson)
8. Cawston (Leigh Sharpe)
9. East of England Co-op (Nigel Cooper)
10. Staines Brass (Jonathan Pippen)
11. Ware Brass (Craig Patterson)
12. Alder Valley Brass (Lee Woodward)
13. Chiltern Hills Brass (Gordon Davies)
14. Soham Comrades (Mark Ager)
15. City of Cambridge (Philip Fisher)
*Top two Qualify for National Final at Cheltenham
Cornet: Sop (Fulham)
Basses Amersham
Second Section:
Test Piece: 'Rise of the Phoenix' — Darrol Barry
Adjudicators: Mark Wilkinson and Mareika Gray
1. Epsom & Ewell Silver (Paul Graham)*
2. Tendring Brass (Antony Sanders)*
3. Bedford Town (Craig Patterson)*
4. Horsham Borough (Mark McLaughlin)
5. LGB Brass (Ian Stewart)
6. BAE Systems (David Chapman)
7. Colchester (Victoria Steinitz)
8. Castleton Brass (Peter Ryan)
9. Wantage Concert Brass (Calum MacDonald)
10. Waterbeach (Andrew Kershaw)
11. Chinnor Silver (David Pegram)
12. Oxford Cherwell Brass (Terry Brotherhood)
13. St Sebastian Wokingham (John Watts)
14. Yiewsley & West Drayton (Christopher Cole)
15. Cold Ash Brass (Jemma Johnstone)
16. Littleport Brass (Ian Knpaton)
17. Tilbury (David Stokes)
18. Fairlop Brass (Kevin Jordan)
*Top three Qualify for National Final at Cheltenham
Bass Section: Tendring Brass
Trombone Section: Tendring Brass
Third Section:
Test Piece: First Suite in Eb (Gustav Holst arr. Sydney Herbert)
Adjudicators: Mareika Gray and Michael Fowles
1. Chichester City (Rom Stanko)*
2. Epping Forest (Keith Schroeter)*
3. Hungerford Town (Tim Crouter)
4. Olney Brass (Kevin Nicholls)
5. Brighton & Hove City (Matthew Hackett)
6. City of Norwich Brass (Mark Ager)
7. Welwyn Garden City (Duncan Wilson)
8. Crystal Palace (Michael Gray)
9. Regent Community Brass (Chris Bearman)
10. Bradwell Silver (Brian Keech)
11. East Coast Brass (Paul Speed)
12. Tadley Concert Brass (Paul Chapman)
13. Jubilee Brass (Oxford) (Clifford Sadler)
14. Godalming (James Haigh)
15. Hangleton (Richard Baker)
*Top two Qualify for National Final at Cheltenham
Fourth Section:
Test Piece: 'Stantonbury Festival' Ray Steadman Allen
Adjudicators: Nick Garman and Paul Norley
1. Simon Langton Brass (K Twyman)*
2. Great Yarmouth Brass (Colin Swaep)*
3. Cottenham Brass (Peter Mackley)*
4. Hemel Hempstead (Paul Fothergill)
5. Pangbourne & District Silver (Stewart Lewins)
6. Letchworth Garden City (Tim Welch) 
7. Witney Town (Steve Sizeland)
8. Woodbridge Excelsior (Chris Lewis-Garnham)
9. City of Oxford (Gareth Coulson)
10. Abbey Brass (Rob Tompkins)
11. Royston Town (Steve Earley)
12. Luton Youth Brass (Simon Router)
13. Amersham Community Brass (Malcolm Peach)
14. Hadstock Silver (Diane Pannell)
15. Snowdown Colliery (Andy Collins)
16. Watford (Ian Graves)
17. Bletchington Silver (Sheldon Barwick)
18. Patcham Silver (James Benka-Coker)
19. Norfolk Wherry Brass (Eddie Baker)
20. Wantage Academy (Nikki Jones)
*Top three Qualify for National Final at Cheltenham

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1