Tredegar takes the Top Spot in Wales

Congratulations go to Tredegar who not only took the Welsh Championship title with a great performance of Ray Steadman-Allen’s ‘Seascapes’, but also scooped up every other available solo and section prize and won qualification for the 2020 European Championships. The band gave a scintillating performance, under the skilful direction of MD Ian Porthouse, from the number 3 draw which the judges felt simply could not be beaten. Joining Tredegar for the trip to the Royal Albert Hall in October are runners-up Northop Silver and Cory who travel to London thanks to pre-qualification.
Victories in the lower sections were awarded to Goodwick, Newport Borough, Taff Vale and Gwaen Cae Gurwenin the First to Fourth Sections respectively. A list of the full results can be viewed below with further details to follow in the next issue of BBW.
Championship Section:
Test Piece: Seascapes (Ray Steadman-Allen)
Adjudicators: David Hirst & Roger Webster
1. Tredegar (Ian Porthouse)***
2. Northop Silver (John Doyle)*
3. Cory (Philip Harper)**
4. City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) M1 (Garry Cutt)
5. Llwydcoed (Christopher Turner)
6. Ebbw Valley (Gareth Ritter)
7. Tongwynlais Temperance (Gareth Hann)
* Cory pre-qualified for the National Final
** Northop qualify for National Final
*** Tredegar qualify for National Final and gain invitation to represent Wales at the 2020 European Championship.
Best Instrumentalist: Ian Roberts (soprano) Tredegar
Best Cornet: Dewi Griffiths (Tredegar)
Best Basses: Tredegar
First Section:
Test Piece: Symphony of Marches (Gilbert Vinter)
Adjudicators: Sheona Wade & Roger Webster
1. Goodwick (Matthew Jenkins)*
2. Burry Port Town (Ceri John)*
3. Pontardulais Town (Paul Jenkins)
4. Deiniolen (Lois Eifion)
5. Tylorstown (Gary Davies)
6. Lewis Merthyr (Craig Roberts)
7. BTM (Nigel Seaman)
8. Markham & District (Matt Rowe)
9. Llanrug (Brian Connolly)
10. Ifton Colliery (Scott Lloyd)
11. Abergavenny Borough (Sean O'Neill)
*Top two bands qualify for National Final
Best Instrumentalist: Robbert Vos (euphonium) Burry Port
Second Section:
Saturday 16th March
Test Piece: Rise of the Phoenix (Darrol Barry)
Adjudicators: Sarah Groarke-Booth & David Hirst
1. Newport Borough (Robin Hackett)*
2. Royal Buckley Town (Keith Jones)*
3. Penclawdd (Tony Small)
4. Mid Rhondda (Alan Gibbs)
5. Ammanford Town Silver (Glyn Davies)
6. Newtown Silver (Steve Edwards)
7. Abertillery Town (Joshua Ruck)
8. Seindorf Arian Crwbin (Andrew Jones)
*Top two bands qualify for National Final
Best Instrumentalist: Seamus Gallagher (Newport Borough)
Best Percussion: Newport Borough
Third Section:
Test Piece: First Suite in Eb (Gustav Holst arr. Sydney Herbert)
Adjudicators: Sheona Wade & Brian Rostron
1. Taff Vale (Gareth Ritter)*
2. Usk (James Jones)*
3. Briton Ferry Silver (Jeff Pearce)
4. RAF St Athan Voluntary (Alan Bourne)
5. Ynyshir (Gary Davies)
Best Instrumentalist: Nigel Stallard (soprano) RAF St Athan
*Top two bands qualify for National Final 
Fourth Section:
Test Piece: Stantonbury Festival (Ray Steadman-Allen)
Adjudicators: Sarah Groarke-Booth & Sheona Wade
1. Gwaen Cae Gurwen (Robert Burnett)*
2. Seindorf Beaumaris (Scott Lloyd)*
3. Menai Bridge Porthaethwy (Chris Williams)
4. Buckley (Steve Pugh-Jones)
5. Cwmtawe (Wayne Pedrick)
6. Northop (Aled Williams)
7. Crosskeys Silver (Sion Rhys Jones)
8. Holywell (Chris Barnes)
9. Seindorf Arian yr Oakeley (Aled Williams)
*Top two bands qualify for National Final


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1