Flowers retain their Regional Title

The West of England regionals took place this weekend in the Riviera, Torquay. Congratulations go to Flowers who successfully defended their title with a confidently delivered performance Ray Steadman-Allen’s ‘Seascapes’ from the number 5 draw. Joining them for the trip to the Royal Albert Hall in October are runners-up Aldbourne. 
Victories in the lower sections were awarded to Michlemersh Silver, Sidmouth Town, Gosport Solent Brass and Redruth Town in the First to Fourth Sections respectively. A list of the full results can be viewed below with further details to follow in the next issue of BBW. 
Championship Section: 
Test Piece: Seascapes (Ray Steadman-Allen) 
Adjudicators: Major David Barringer MBE & Ludovic Neurohr 
1. Flowers (Paul Holland)* 
2. Aldbourne (Dr David Thornton)* 
3. Filton Concert Brass (Tom Davoren) 
4. Woodfalls (Dr Robert Childs) 
5. Camborne Town (Kevin Mackenzie) 
6. St Dennis (Darren R Hawken) 
7. Verwood Concert Brass (Kevin Smith) 
8. Lydbrook (Glyn Williams) 
9. St Austell Town (Iain McKnight) 
10. Lanner & District Silver (David Hamilton) 
11. Chalford (Steve Tubb) 
12. Bournemouth Concert Brass (Dr Howard Evans) 
13. Hyde (Garry Cutt) 
*Top two bands qualify for National Final 
First Section: 
Test Piece:Symphony of Marches (Gilbert Vinter) 
Adjudicators: Major David Barringer MBE & Dr Nick Grace OBE 
1. Michlemersh Silver (Melvin White)* 
2. Bodmin Town (John Maines)* 
3. Glastonbury Brass (Daniel Shave) 
4. Brunel Brass (Daniel Hall) 
5. SW Comms (Chris Spreadbury) 
6. Andover Town (Steve Large)  
7. Roche Brass (David Johnson) 
8. Soundhouse Brass Plymouth (Lee Clayson) 
9. Helston Town (John Berryman) 
10. City of Bristol Brass (Christopher Bond) 
11. A W Parker (Drybrook) (Joshua Ruck) 
12. Otterbourne Brass (Phillip Littlemore) 
13. St Keverne (Gareth Churcher) 
14. Forest of Dean Brass (Bryn James) 
15. Sherborne Town (Gary Greenstock) 
16. Mount Charles (Colin Toghill) 
*Top two bands qualify for National Final 
Second Section: 
Test Piece: Rise of the Phoenix (Darrol Barry) 
Adjudicators: Alan Bourne & Brian Rostron 
1. Sidmouth Town (Adrian Harvey)* 
2. Weston Brass (Carl Whiteoak)* 
3. St Pinnock (Colin Hudson) 
4. Wotton-Under-Edge & District (Ian Dickinson) 
5. Bream Silver (Hugh Bamford) 
6. Hatherleigh Silver (Matt Green) 
7. Camborne Junior Contesting (Alan Pope BEM) 
8. Midsomer Norton & Radstock Silver (Jo Sykes) 
9. Phoenix Brass (Crewkerne) (David Boorer) 
10. Shrewton Silver (Peter Bede) 
11. Downton (Paul Williams) 
12. Lydney Town (Kevin Ford) 
13. Cinderford (Chris Howley) 
14. Denmead Brass (Estelle Flood) 
15. Cheltenham Silver (Nigel Galliott) 
16. Corsham (John Heritage) 
*Top two bands qualify for the National Final  
Third Section: 
Test Piece: Little Suite in Eb (Gustav Holst) 
Adjudicators: Dr Nick Grace & Alan Bourne 
1. Gosport Solent Brass (Colin Garner)* 
2. Poole Borough (Lloyd Bartlett)* 
3. South Molton Town (Gil Taylor)* 
4. Swindon Brass (Francis Cowley) 
5. New Forest Brass (Ian Luxford) 
6. Ocean Brass (Martin Humphries) 
7. Pendeen Silver (Leonard Adams) 
8. Porthleven Town (Tom Bassett) 
9. Bath Spa (Martin Perry) 
10. Bugle Silver (Steve Osborne) 
11. Pillowell Silver (Ian Whitburn) 
12. St Stythians (James Burns) 
13. Gillingham Imperial Silver (James Bennett) 
14. Bratton Silver (Simon Carr) 
15. Verwood Town (Emma Button) 
16. Swindon Pegasus (Danny Dullforce) 
17. Indian Queens (Mark Arnold) 
*Top three bands qualify for National Final 
Withdrawn: Weymouth Concert Brass (Helen Brind) 
Fourth Section: 
Test Piece: Stantonbury Festival (Ray Steadman-Allen) 
Adjudicators: Ludovic Neurohr & Brian Rostron 
1. Redruth Town (Andrew Craze)* 
2. Woughton Silver (Neil Webb)* 
3. Nailsworth Silver (Steve Ruck)* 
4. Shaftesbury Town Silver (Martin Hill) 
5. Exeter Railway (Graham Eaton) 
6. Bideford Town (Mark Durham) 
7. Saltash Town (Ross Farr-Semmens) 
8. Tewkesbury Town (Nigel Morgan) 
9. Okehampton Excelsior Silver (Robert Julian) 
10. Great Western Youth (Ben Halstead) 
11. Chalford Academy (Steve Tubb) 
12. Tiverton Town (John Fitton) 
13. Test Valley Brass (John Heritage) 
14. Shanklin Town Brass (IoW) (Malcolm Lewis) 
15. Illogan Sparnon Silver (Shaun Marsden) 
16. Torbay Brass (Joe Lowlands) 
17. Launceston Town (Alan Iles) 
*Three bands qualify for National Final

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1