Desford win in the Midlands

The Regionals continued at pace this weekend with three separate competitions taking place around the country. In the Midlands it was Desford who were victorious, with those in attendance in agreement the adjudicators’ decision. Desford delivered a terrific performance of Ray Steadman-Allen’s ‘Seascapes’ under the leadership of Michael Fowles with GUS and their new M.D. Chris Jeans earning the runner up spot and joining them for the trip to London in October. 
Victories in the lower sections were awarded to Enderby, Gresley Colliery, Raunds Temperance and Ratby Co-operative Mid in the First to Fourth Sections respectively. A list of the full results can be viewed below with further details to follow in the next issue of BBW. 
Championship Section: 
Test Piece: Seascapes (Ray Steadman-Allen) 
Adjudicators: Brett Baker & Derek Broadbent 
1. Desford Colliery (Michael Fowles)* 
2. GUS (Chris Jeans)* 
3. Ratby Co-operative (Mareika Gray) 
4. Foresters Brass (John Davis) 
5. Blidworth Welfare (Simon Oates) 
6. Jaguar Landrover (Nigel Seaman) 
7. Spal Sovereign Brass (Trevor Jones) 
8. Langley (Cliff Parker) 
9. Derwent Brass (Jack Capstaff) 
10. Thoresby Colliery (Ian McElligott) 
11. Rushden Town (Adele Hudson) 
12. Hathern (John Hudson) 
*Top two bands qualify for National Final 
First Section: 
Test Piece: Symphony of Marches (Gilbert Vinter) 
Adjudicators: Alan Morrison & John Winterflood 
1. Enderby (Ryan Richards)* 
2. Hucknall & Linby MC (Paul Whyley)* 
3. Newstead Brass (Jim Davies) 
4. Jackfield (David Maplestone) 
5. Shirley (David Hirst) 
6. Bedworth Brass (Wayne Ruston) 
7. Kibworth (John Hudson) 
8. Oddfellows Brass (Dave Hollings) 
9. Harborough (Brad Turnbull) 
10. Burbage (Buxton) (Steve Critchlow) 
11. Staffordshire (Craig Williams) 
12. Bilton Silver (Rugby) (David Stowell) 
13. Shirebrook MW Unison (Jim Henson) 
14. Carlton Brass (Gary Wyatt) 
15. Leicestershire Co-op (Brendan Caddy) 
*Top two bands qualify for National Final 
Withdrawn: Glossop Old (Luke Palister) 
Second Section: 
Test Piece: Rise of the Phoenix (Darrol Barry) 
Adjudicators: Gary Davies & Steve Pritchard-Jones 
1. Gresley Colliery (Craig Stevens)* 
2. Rolls Royce (Derby) (Graham Cardwell)* 
3. Shirland Welfare (Lynden Cooper) 
4. Foss Dyke (Mike Howley) 
5. Market Rasen (David Dernley) 
6. Ireland Colliery Chesterfield (Lindon Bolt) 
7. Ibstock Brick Brass (Simon Willis) 
8. Wigston (Chris Small) 
9. Tintwistle (Andrew Mallon) 
10. City of Coventry (Stephen Cooper) 
11. Avonbank Evesham (Dave Lea) 
12. Bakewell Silver (Andy Davey) 
13. Stourport on Severn (Oliver Wilson) 
*Top two bands qualify for National Final  
Third Section: 
Test Piece: First Suite in Eb (Gustav Holst) 
Adjudicators: Gary Davies and Steve Pritchard-Jones 
1. Raunds Temperance (Jonathan Pippen)* 
2. Stamford Brass (Julian Bright)* 
3. Towcester Studio (Neil Brownless) 
4. Pleasley Colliery Welfare (Geof Benson) 
5. Wellington Telford (Stephen Rhodes) 
6. Cleobury Mortimer (Colin Hogg) 
7. Arrow Valley (Andy Culshaw) 
8. Audley Brass (Tom Hancock) 
9. Cubbington (Mark Phillips) 
10. Long Eaton (Sharon Stansfield) 
11. Corby Silver (Catherine Fountain) 
12. Daventry (Bob Stradling) 
13. Amington (Alan Gifford) 
14. Newhall (Kevin Holdgate) 
15. Syston (Gary Smallwood) 
16. Trentham Brass (Mike Cavaney) 
*Top two bands qualify for National Final 
Fourth Section: 
Test Piece: Stantonbury Festival (Ray Steadman-Allen) 
Adjudicators: Benjamin Richeton and John Winterflood  
1. Ratby Co-operative Mid (Gary Perrin)* 
2. Melton (Graham Sutton)* 
3. Shipston Town (Howard Gibbs)* 
4. Kirkby Colliery Welfare (Neville Buxton) 
5. Skegness (Steve Walker) 
6. Matlock (Chris Banks) 
7. Whitwell Brass (Ryan Stacey) 
8. Coventry Festival (Allan Wheelhouse) 
9. Moulton 77 (Colin Jones) 
10. Croft Silver (Ian Needham) 
11. University of Warwick (Simon Hogg) 
12. Sherwood Forest Brass (Christine Lippeatt) 
13. Malvern Hills District (Chris License) 
14. Fairfield (Buxton) (Charles Kitchen) 
15. Brackley & District (Mark Probert) 
16. City of Birmingham (Ben Hewlett-Davies) 
17. Wem Jubilee (David Thomas) 
18. Dunchurch (Paul Whitmore) 
19. Bilton Silver (Evolution) (Jack Fisher) 
20. Newark Town (Brian Newland) 
*Top three bands qualify for National Final  
Withdrawn: Bestwood Welfare Black Diamonds (tba)  


For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1