2019 Spring Festival Details

The British Open organisers have announced the complete list of competitors for this year’s contests as well as where they fall in terms of the split draw. They have also released news of which adjudicators will be making the all important decisions.
The 99thSpring Festival, part of the British Open Championships, will take place at Blackpool's Winter Gardens on Saturday 18th May, with the adjudication team comprising Ryan Breen, Garry Cutt, Dave Lea, Steve Sykes, Mark Wilkinson and Thomas Wyss.
The test piece to be performed in the Grand Shield is 'Fraternity' by Thierry Deleruyelle, Paul Huber's 'Symphonic Music for Brass Band' will test bands in the Senior Cup and Gilbert Vinter's 'Triumphant Rhapsody' is the set-work in the Senior Trophy.
In keeping with tradition two bands will be promoted to the British Open following success at the Grand Shield with all the other usual relegation and promotion battles also taking place between the Festival contests.
Tickets are priced at £12 and £8 and are available from Ticketmaster on 0844 856 11 11 or on the door.
2019 Grand Shield:
Camborne Town (Kevin Mackenzie) (F)
cooperation band (Mike Fowles) (S)
East Yorkshire Motor Services (Stig Maersk) (F)
Filton Concert Brass (Tom Davoren) (F)
Friary (Chris King) (S)
GUS Band (Chris Jeans) (F)
Jaguar Land Rover (Brad Turnbull) (S)
Milnrow (Dennis Hadfield) (F)
NASUWT Riverside (Prof Nicholas Childs) (S)
Oldham Band (Lees) (John Collins) (S)
Pemberton Old Wigan (Ben Dixon) (S)
Rainford (Gareth Brindle) (F)
Redbridge (Jeremy Wise) (S)
Reg Vardy (Russell Gray) (S)
Rothwell Temperance (David Roberts) (F)
Skelmanthorpe (Martin Heartfield) (S)
St Dennis (Darren R Hawken) (S)
Thoresby Colliery (Ian McElligott) (F)
Tongwynlais Temperance (Gareth Hann) (F)
Woodfalls (Dr Robert Childs) (F)
2019 Senior Cup:
Ashton under Lyne (Philip Chalk) (S)
Aveley & Newham (Alan Duguid) (S)
Blackburn & Darwen (Daniel Thomas) (F)
City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) (Christopher Bond) (S)
Dalmellington (Nigel Boddice) (F)
Derwent Brass (Jack Capstaff) (F)
Elland Silver (Daniel Brooks) (F)
Goodwick Brass (Matthew Jenkins) (F)
Hatfield & Askern Colliery (Stan Lippeatt) (F)
Hepworth (Dr David Thornton) (F)
Kingdom Brass (Ian Porthouse) (S)
Kirkintilloch (TBA) (S)
Llwydcoed (Chris Turner) (S)
Lydbrook (Glyn Williams) (F)
Newtongrnge Silver (Andrew Duncan) (F)
Northop Silver (John Doyle) (F)
Ratby Co-operative (Dave Purkiss) (S)
Roche Brass (David Johnson) (S)
TCTC Group Band (Jeff Sparkes) (S)
Wantage Silver (Paul Holland) (S)
Yorkshire Imperial Urquhart Travel (Simon Greswell) (S)
2019 Senior Trophy:
Burry Port (Ceri John) (F)
City of Bradford (Lee Skipsey) (S)
Drighlington (Neil Robinson) (S)
Easington Colliery Brass (Jonathan Fenwick) (S)
East London Brass (Jayne Murrill) (F)
Ebbw Valley Brass (Gareth Ritter) (F)
Eccles Borough Brass (Mareika Gray) (F)
Jackfield Brass (David Maplestone) (F)
Laganvale (Metal Technology) (Keith Anderson) (S)
Marsden Silver Prize (Andrew Lofthouse) (S)
Shepherd Group (Richard Wilton) (F)
SPAL Sovereign Brass (Trevor Jones) (F)
Staffordshire (Craig William) (F)
Strata Brass (Jonathan Bates) (F)
Thundersley Brass (Melvin White) (S)
Tylorstown (Gary Davies) (S)
UNISON Kinneil (Raymond Tennant) (S)
Unite the Union (John Roberts) (F)
Vernon Building Society Poynton (Ryan Watkins) (S)
Verwood Concert Brass (Kevin Smith) (S)
(F) First half of contest draw
(S) Second half of contest draw

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1