Butlins Competitors Announced

The competitors in the 2019 Butlins Mineworkers Championships have been announced.
The event, which will take place on the weekend of 12thand 13thJanuary, as always offers some tantalisingly generous financial rewards for the successful bands.
Championship Section:
Venue: Centre Stage
Saturday 12th January
Draw: 11.30am (commences after the 4th Section)
Rienzi (Wagner arr. Haydn Johns)
Benvenuto Cellini (Berlioz arr. Frank Wright)
Carnival (Dvorak arr. Geoffrey Brand)
Adjudicators: Brian Rostron & Alan Fernie (Test Piece & Entertainment)
Sunday 13th January (Entertainment)
Draw: Saturday Evening 
Venue: Centre Stage
Commences: 11.00am
First: £10,000
Second: £5,000
Third: £2,500
Fourth: £1,000
Test Piece winner: £1,000
Most Entertaining Band: £1,000 
1. Desford Colliery (LMTF) (Michael Fowles)
2. Flowers (Paul Holland)
3. Friary Guildford (Chris King)
4. Haverhill Silver (Paul Filby)
5. Redbridge Brass (Jeremy Wise)
6. GUS (Chris Jeans)
7. Woodfalls (Dr Robert Childs)
First Section:
Venue: Reds
Saturday 12th January
Draw: 8.30am 
Commences: 10.00am
Test Pieces:
La Forza del Destino (Berlioz arr. Frank Wright)
Le Corsair (Berlioz arr. Geoffrey Brand)
Adjudicators: Alan Morrison & Dave Lea
First: £2,000
Second: £1,000
Third: £700
Fourth: £500
1. Boarshurst Silver (James Garlick)
2. City of Cambridge (Philip Fisher)
3. Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray)
4. Enderby (Ryan Richards)
5. Fulham Brass (John Ward)
6. Harborough (Brad Turnbull)
7. Haydock Band (Mark Quinn)
8. Hucknall & Linby (Paul Whyley)
9. Jackfield (David Maplestone)
10. Knottinglley Silver (Kevin Belcher)
11. Milton Keynes Brass (Jonathan Mott)
12. Sandhurst Silver (David Johnson)
13. Soham Comrades (Mark Ager)
14. Stannington (Derek Renshaw)
15. Ware Brass (Craig Patterson)
16. Yorkshire Imperial Urquhart Travel (Simon Gresswell) 
Second Section:
Venue: Royal Arthur Suite
Saturday 12th January
Draw: 8.30am 
Commences: 10.30am
Test Pieces:
Academic Festival Overture (Brahms arr. Denis Wright)
The Frogs of Aristophanes (Bantock arr. Frank Wright) 
Adjudicators: Kevin Wadsworth & Sheona White
First: £2,000
Second: £1,000
Third: £700
Fourth: £500
1. Bedford Town (Martin Hurrell)
2. Besses Boys (James Holt)
3. City of Coventry Brass (Stephen Cooper)
4. Colchester Band (Victoria Steinitz)
5. Dronfield Genquip CMW (Damien Wileman)
6. Dunstan Silver (Aiden Hodgson)
7. Gresley Colliery (Craig Stevens)
8. Hade Edge (Jonathon Beatty)
9. Hatherleigh Silver (Matt Green)
10. Horsham Borough (Mark McLaughlin)
11. Ibstock Brick Brass (Simon Willis)
12. NASUWT Concert (Andrew Hall)
13. Shirland Welfare (Lynden Cooper)
14. Waterbeach Brass (Andrew Kershaw)
Third Section:
Venue: Crazy Horse
Saturday 12th January
Draw: 8.30am 
Commences: 11.00am
Test Pieces:
Egmont Overture (Beethoven arr. Eric Ball)
Rule Britannia (William Rimmer)
Adjudicators: David Ashworth & Mike Kilroy 
First: £2,000
Second: £1,000
Third: £700
Fourth: £500
1. Amington (Alan Gifford)
2. Brighton & Hove City (Matthew Hackett)
3. Crystal Palace (Michael Gray)
4. Cubbington Silver (Mark Phillips)
5. East Coast Brass (Paul Speed)
6. Ellington Colliery (Clare Winter)
7. Epping Forest (Keith Schroeter)
8. Hoover (Bolton) (Craig Mann)
9. Littleborough (Adrian Woodhead)
10. Pleasley Colliery Welfare (Geof Benson)
11. Raunds Temperance (Jonathan Pippen)
12. Stamford Brass (Julian Bright)
13. Whitworth Vale & Healey (Christopher Binns)
Fourth Section:
Venue: Centre Stage
Saturday 12th January
Draw: 8.30am 
Commences: 9.30am
Test Pieces:
Overture to Youth (Eric Hughes)
A Saddleworth Festival (Goff Richards)
Adjudicators: Mark Wilkinson & John Doyle
First: £2,000
Second: £1,000
Third: £700
Fourth: £500
1. Banovallum Brass (Horncastle) (Steve Ingham)
2. Cottenham Brass (P.B Mackley)
3. Dodworth Colliery MW (Eliot Darwin)
4. Great Yarmouth Brass (Colin Swaep)
5. Maltby Miners Welfare (Terry Clifford)
6. Norfolk Wherry Brass (Eddie Baker)
7. Royston Town (Steve Earley)
8. Sale Brass (John Anderson)
9. Sherwood Forest Brass (Christine Lippeatt)
10. Tewit Silver (Martin Hall)
11. Thurcroft Welfare (Matthew Wright)
12. Whitwell Brass (Ryan Stacey)
Unregistered Section:
Venue: Reds
Sunday 13th January
Own Choice
First: £200
Second: £100
Third: £50
Adjudicator: Mark Walters
1. Gresley Colliery Youth (Duncan Jackson)
2. Wigston Enterprise Band (Matthew Davies)
3. Shirland Training (Dave Hill)
Youth Section:
Venue: Reds
Sunday 13th January
Commences: Following Ensemble Section
Set Work: Own Choice
Adjudicator: Mark Walters
First: £1,000
Second: £600
Third: £200
1. Gresley Colliery Youth (Duncan Jackson)
2. City of Cambridge Academy (Martyn Grisdale)
3. Shirland Youth (Dave Hill)
4. 3BA Academy Brass (Birgit Trinkl)
5. Enderby Youth (Trevor Hounsome)

Details of the solo and quartet events will be released in due course. 

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital, available to read online (annual subscription: £30), or subscribe to BBW's printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World). Alternatively, receive both the Digital and printed editions combined: £55 (UK); £83 (Europe); £96 (rest of the world) - saving 50% on the Digital edition. Click here to subscribe!

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1