2018 scaba Autumn Contest

scaba's annual Autumn Contest recently returned to the Hawth in Crawley with a new format designed to appeal to a wider range of competing bands and audiences alike.

Adjudicator Sarah Groarke-Booth enjoyed a high standard of performances throughout the day, with 19 bands playing in two combined sections.
Godalming Band took top prize in the 'B' Section (as well as a host of individual awards) with a fine rendition of Paul Lovatt-Cooper's 'Vitae Aeternum', which along with their Fourth Section victory at the Spring contest earlier this year deservedly earned the title of 2018 scaba 'Band of the Year'.
The 'A' Section title was won in commanding fashion by Friary Guildford with a cultured performance of Kenneth Downie's 'Handel in the Band' (along with a clean sweep of the individual awards) ahead of their sixth consecutive appearance at the National Finals.
A spokesperson for the event commented, "Our thanks go to all competing bands for their preparation and performances; to our traders, Ev-Entz percussion and Kenny Crookston of Brass Bands England for supporting the event, and to the Hawth and scaba teams for an enjoyable day of music-making."
A Section:
Second, First & Championship Section Bands
1. Friary Guildford (Chris King)
2. Aveley & Newham (Alan Duguid)
3. Bedford Town (Andrew Kershaw)
4. Michelmersh Silver (Melvin White)
5 Alder Valley Brass (Lee Woodward)
6. Soham Comrades (Mark Ager)
7. LGB Brass (Ian Stewart)
8. Epsom & Ewell Silver (Paul Graham)
9. East of England Co-op (Nigel Cooper)
10. BAE Systems (Dave Chapman)
11. Poole Borough (Lloyd Bartlett)
12. Horsham Borough (Mark McLaughlin)
Best Hymn Tune: Friary Guildford
Best Conductor: Chris King (Friary Guildford)
Best Instrumentalist: Martin Britt (soprano) — Friary Guildford
Best Cornet or Flugel: Richard Straker (cornet) — Friary Guildford
Best Tenor Horn: Chris Pannell — (Friary Guildford)
Best Baritone: Alex Sears — (Friary Guildford)
Best Euphonium: Chris Straker — (Friary Guildford)
Best Back Row Cornets: Friary Guildford
Best Trombones: Friary Guildford
Best Basses: Friary Guildford
Best Percussion: Friary Guildford
Highest placed Championship Section band: Friary Guildford
Highest placed 1st Section band: Bedford Town
Highest placed 2nd Section band: Soham Comrades
Highest placed scaba member band (2nd Section): LGB Brass
scaba Band of the Year 2018: Godalming
B Section:
(Ungraded, Youth, Fourth & Third Section Bands)
1. Godalming (James Haigh)
2. Brighton & Hove City Brass (Matthew Hackett)
3. Shanklin Town (Malcolm Lewis)
4. Hangleton (Richard Baker)
5. Epping Forest (Keith Schroeter)
6. Cobham Band (Glenn Hayter)
7. Hangleton Youth (Richard Baker)
Best Hymn Tune: Shanklin
Best Conductor: James Haigh, Godalming
Best Instrumentalist: Christine Nonoo (euphonium) — Hangleton
Best Cornet or Flugel: Richard Taylor (cornet) — Hangleton
Best Tenor Horn: Charlotte Lewis (Shanklin)
Best Baritone: Sam Honeysett (Godalming)
Best Euphonium: Robin Langdon (Cobham)
Best Back Row Cornets: Brighton & Hove
Best Trombones: Godalming
Best Basses: Godalming
Best Percussion: Godalming
Highest placed Ungraded band: Cobham
Highest placed Youth band: Hangleton Youth
Highest Placed 3rd Section band: Brighton & Hove
Highest Placed 4th Section band: Godalming

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital. Alternatively, subscribe to the printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World)

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1