Cory win the British Open

Congratulations to the Cory Band who will be taking the British Open shield back to Wales following an impressive performance of Bert Appermont’s ‘A Brussels Requiem’. The result was a popular one with the audience and although several bands produced superb performances, there seemed little doubt in the hall that Cory would once again scoop the top prize.
Full results are below and an in depth retrospective of the event will appear in the next edition of BBW.
Full Results
1. Cory (Philip Harper)
2. Valaisia Brass Band (Arsene Duc)
3. Brighouse & Rastrick (Prof. David King)
4. Eikanger-Bjorsvik Musikklag (Bjarte Engeset)
5. Black Dyke (Prof. Nicholas J. Childs)
6. Leyland (Thomas Wyss)
7. Carlton Main Frickley Colliery (Luc Vertommen).
8. Grimethorpe Colliery (Allan Withington)
9. Fairey (Garry Cutt)
10. Foden's (Michael Bach)
11. Desford Colliery
(Leicestershire Miners Trust Fund) (Michael Fowles)
12. Tredegar (Ian Porthouse)
13. Aldbourne (Dr David Thornton)
14. Flowers (Phillip McCann)
15. Wingates (Paul Andrews)
16. Hammonds Saltaire (Morgan Griffiths)
17. Whitburn (Florent Didier)
18. Rothwell Temperance (David Roberts)
19. Co-op Funeralcare (Frans Violet)
Stanley Wainwright Memorial Trophy: Principal Cornet, Valaisia Brass Band
Brian Evans Memorial Trophy: Eikanger-Bjorsvik Musikklag
The Geoffrey Whitham Memorial Trophy: Philippe Schwartz Brighouse & Rastrick

For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital. Alternatively, subscribe to the printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World)

 Photo credit Goldy Solutions: Composer Bert Appermont with the British Open Shield

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1