Christopher Turner awarded Welsh Conductor of the Year 

Chris Turner, Musical Director of the Welsh League Champion Band, Llywdcoed 
was presented with the Eric James trophy as the Welsh conductor of the year. The award was made all the sweeter as Llywdcoed were also crowned as Champion Band of the Welsh League for the third successive year, following their second place result in the Merthyr Tydfill contest last weekend. 

Commenting on his award Chris was typically humble, thanking everyone at Llywdcoed for their dedication and hard work, resulting in such consistent results, before adding: "On a personal note, it's lovely to have been awarded Welsh Conductor of the Year and to have been presented with the Eric James trophy by his grandson, Morgan. Eric was a fantastic trumpet and cornet player, as well as being an extremely talented conductor, I can remember my father telling me stories about his musicianship as I grew up. It was very special to have his son Alun James and other grandson, David James in the audience too." He was also quick to congratulate Tongwynlais on winning the day's competition, as well as commending Ebbw Valley on their runner up spot in the Welsh League.  
Full results: 
Championship Section: 
Adjudicator: Paul Holland 
Set Work: Variations on a Ninth (Gilbert Vinter) 
1. Tongwynlais Temperance (Ian Holmes) — 190 
2. Llwydcoed (Chris Turner) — 188 
3. Ebbw Valley Brass (Gareth Ritter) — 187 
4. City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) (Nigel Seaman) — 186 
5. Tylorstown (Gary Davies) — 185 
6. Markham & District (Matt Rowe) — 184 
Best Instrumentalist: Matt Rowe (euphonium) — Tongwynlais Temperance 
Best Bass Section: Tongwynlais Temperance 
Best Trombone: Nils Everett Richards (Tongwynlais Temperance) 
First Section: 
Adjudicator: Paul Holland 
Set Work: Spectrum (Gilbert Vinter) 
1. AW Parker (Drybrook) (Joshua Ruck) — 185 
2. Lewis Merthyr (Craig Roberts) — 182 
3. Briton Ferry (Jeff Pearce) — 181 
Best Instrumentalist: Mandy Hamer (euphonium) — AW Parker (Drybrook)  
Second Section: 
Adjudicator: Tom Davoren 
Set Work: Purcell Variations (Kenneth Downie) 
1. Newport Borough (Robin Hackett) — 184 
2. Abertillery Town (Joshua Ruck) — 182 
3. Crwbin (Craig Roberts) — 180 
4. Bream Silver (Phil Turner) — 179 
5. Mid Rhondda (Thomas Coaches) (Alan Gibbs) — 176 
6. Penclawdd Brass (Tony Small) — 175 
7. RAF St Athan Voluntary (Alan Bourne) — 174 
Best Instrumentalist: Claire Bourne (corent) — RAF St Athan 
Most Accomplished Trombone Section: Penclawdd Brass 
Third Section: 
Adjudicator: Paul Holland 
Own Choice 
1. Usk (Jeff Jones) — 182 
2. Severn Tunnel (Daniel Hall) — 180 
3. Upper Rhondda (Jayne Thomas) — 179 
4. Ynyshir (Gary Davies) — 178 
Best Instrumentalist: Jamie Jones (euphonium) — Usk 
Best Horn Section: Usk 
Youngest Player in Sections Three & Four: Noah Davies (aged 7) — Ynyshir 
Fourth Section: 
Adjudicator: Paul Holland 
Own Choice 
1. Gwaun Cae Gurwen (Jeff Hutcherson) — 177 
2. Oakdale Silver (Kerry Bowden) — 176 
Youth Section: 
Adjudicator: Tom Davoren 
Entertainment set 
1. Melingriffith Youth (Carol Flannery Davies) 
2. Rhondda Fach Youth (Angela Westacott) 
3. Melingriffith Beginners (Becky Cale) 
4. BTM Learners (Lloyd Barnaby) 
Best Instrumentalist: Noah Davies (kit percussion) 
Best Cornet: Katie Hill (cornet) — Rhondda Fach Youth 
Best Percussion: Melingriffith Youth 
Youngest Bass Player: Ned Falloon (aged 10) — BTM Learners 
Youngest Player: Gwenllian Williams (aged 6) — Melingriffith Beginners 
2017 Welsh League Champions: 
Conductor of the Year: Chris Turner (Llwydcoed) 

Championship Section: 
Champion: Llywdcoed 
Runner-Up: Ebbw Valley 

First Section: 
Champion: Lewis Merthyr 
Runner-Up: Briton Ferry 

Second Section: 
Joint Champion: Mid Rhondda (Thomas Coaches) & Newport Borough  
Runner-Up: Crwbin 

Third Section: 
Champion: Upper Rhondda 
Runner-Up: Usk 

Fourth Section: 
Champion: Oakdale 
Runner-Up: Gwaun Cae Gurwen 
For more news, features, articles and reviews, subscribe to BBW Digital. Alternatively, subscribe to the printed magazine delivered by post: £40 (UK); £68 (Europe); £81 (Rest of the World) 

Displaying 1–1 of 1 1