Llwydcoed take SEWBBA Spring Festival title

Llwydcoed Band gave themselves a confidence boost ahead of next week's Grand Shield with a win at the recent South East Wales Brass Band Association Spring Festival contest. Under Musical Director, Christopher Turner, the band performed Stephen Robert's Reflections on Swan Lake, impressing adjudicator Melvin White, who also awarded Lywydcoed 'Best Back Row Section' and 'Best Horn'.

Tylorstown (Gary Davies) were runner-up in the Championship section playing Vinter's Salute to Youth, and Pontardulais (Paul Jenkins) took the final podium place performing Jan De Han's Alhambra. Full results for all sections listed below.

Championship Section - Adjudicator: Melvin White

1. Llwydcoed (Christopher J Turner)
2. Tylorstown (Gary Davies)
3. Pontardulais Town (Paul Jenkins)
4. Markham & District (Matt Rowe)
5. Ebbw Valley (Gareth Ritter)

Harold Hearn Trophy - Best Instrumentalist - Euphonium Pontardulais Bradley Barnes
H.H. Cook Trophy - Best Horn - Llwydcoed Evan Key
Terry Hill Challenge Cup - Best Back Row Section - Llwydcoed

Section 1 - Adjudicator: Melvin White

1. A W Parker (Drybrook) (Josh Ruck)
2. Ammanford Town (Glyn R.Davies)
3. Abergavenny Borough (Sean O'Neil)
4. Lewis Merthyr (Craif Roberts)

T.W.W. Trophy - Best Instrumentalist - Euphonium A W Parker Drybrook Grant Jameson
Jack Challenger Trophy - Best Soprano - Ammanford Tim Hughes

Section 2 - Adjudicator: Melvin White

1. Mid Rhondda (Thomas Coaches) (Alan F Gibbs)
2. Abertillery Town (Josh Ruck)
3. Crwbin (Craig Roberts)
4. Newport Borough (Robin Hackett)
5. RAF St Athan Voluntary (Alan Bourne)
6. Penclawdd Brass (Tony Small)
7. Crosskeys Silver (Mike Davies)
8. Melingriffith 2 (Andy Wareham)

Section 3 and 4 - Adjudicator: Tom Hutchinson

1. Cwmtawe & District Youth (Section 3) (Wayne Pedrick)
2. Upper Rhondda (Section 3) (Jayne Thomas)
3. Ynyshir (Section 3) (Gary Davies)
4. Oakdale Silver (Section 4) (Kerry Bowden)
5. Usk Brass (Section 3) (Jeff Jones)
6. Gwaun Cae Gurwen (Section 4) (Jeff Hutcherson)
7. Ogmore Valley Silver (Section 3) (Alice Jones)
8. Malvern Hills District (Section 4) (Chris License)

Youth Section - Adjudicator: Tom Hutchinson

Gold: Melingriffith Youth (Carol Flannery Davies) & Rhondda Fach Youth (Angela Westacott)
Silver: Cwmtawe Training (Chris Thomas) & Blaenavon Town Juniors (Evan Smith)
Bronze: BTM Learners (Lloyd Barnaby), Abertillery Training (Lesley Yaylor) and Melingriffith Beginners (Becky Cale)

Gwent Music Support Trophy - Best Instrumentalist - Becca Evans Flugel Horn Melingriffith Youth
Ev-entz Trophy - Best Percussion Section - Rhian Evans, Iwan Hill, Luke Williams, Kayleigh Lewis, Noah Davies
SEWBBA Shield - Youngest Player - Megan Toovey Aged 5 Blaenavon Town Juniors

Life Member Awards (40 plus years service):

Dean Evans
Mair Evans
Robert Gowing
Clayton McCann
Mark (Stan) Richards
Andrew Robins
Paul Williams

Special Award: Dean Evans Bronze Award for Meritorious Service



Displaying 1–1 of 1 1